Posted on November 26, 2021

INDIAN WELLS, Calif. – The Springfield Lasers won their first WTT regular season
championship in the non-division format by defeating the San Diego Aviators 23-16 on Friday
night at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

Springfield, who clinched their spot in the 2021 WTT Finals Presented by Guaranteed Rate on
Thanksgiving, won four of the five sets to clinch the match. The Lasers will be the No. 1 seed
and have the advantage of picking the order of play for Sunday’s final.

The New York Empire, the 2020 champion, defeated the 2020 WTT runner-up Chicago Smash
24-20 in Friday’s first match. Chicago finished the 2021 season with a 5-7 record.

Victories in men’s doubles and women’s singles allowed New York to take an early 10-7 lead,
but the Smash collected the mixed doubles set win and eventually tied the score 15-15 in
women’s doubles. Kirsten Flipkens & Quinn Gleason responded by winning the next three
games and eventually won the tie-break to claim the women’s doubles set that extended the
Empire’s lead 19-16. Marcos Giron, the 2014 NCAA singles champion from UCLA, clinched the
win for the Empire by defeating fellow American Tommy Paul 5-4 in men’s singles.

The Springfield Lasers face their championship opponent in Coachella Valley native and threetime Major mixed doubles champion, Desirae Krawczyk, and the Orange County Breakers on
Saturday at 3 p.m. New York closes out the 2021 regular season with the San Diego Aviators in
Saturday’s second match at 6 p.m.

All World TeamTennis matches will be held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Tickets are
available for purchase online at wtt.com/tickets-2021. Due to requirements set by the Indian
Wells Tennis Garden, all fans in attendance will need valid proof of full COVID-19 vaccination to
enter the grounds for WTT matches.